Away Away, for Now

I’m putting my fiction away for now. It was a hard choice, reluctantly made. But I’ve got other priorities that I want to see fulfilled. Once they are, I hope to be generating enough residual income to give myself room to breathe and time to kick back into storytelling mode. For now, the income kind of work has to be my focus, which means the fiction has to go away away, not just last in a long list away.

Ironically, it was that short story trailer that started me along this path. I want to give myself time to create, publish, and market some short informational products. Instead of inspiring me to write (fiction), it inspired me to sell.

What can you do? I’m a trained marketer, if not a marketer at heart.

About Stephanie Allen Crist

I write fiction, non-fiction, poetry, and essays. I also provide business and resume writing services. Here on Caressing the Muse, I will write about the joys of storytelling, the art of writing, and my own work. I will also post regular reviews of novels, short stories, poems, television shows, movies, and writing about writing. Check out www.StephanieAllenCrist.com to learn more!
This entry was posted in Self-Promotion and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Away Away, for Now

  1. acflory says:

    Not at all what I was expecting but probably a good thing. :)

    • Yeah, it was a very, very hard choice. And the worst part of it is that the ideas, the stories, the “movie in the head” doesn’t stop just because I can’t work on the writing part.

      I have two would-be-novels (one would be the first of a series) screaming for attention. Both are partially planned and could be completed relatively easily. I have another that plays through my head in that time between being awake and being asleep that’s not quite ready to be planned yet. I have at least six other ideas (most of which would be series-length epics) that I could turn to at a moment’s notice, because they’ve been brewing for years.

      And I don’t have the time or the energy to actually finish any of them!

      It’s very, very frustrating. But I’ll never really be able to devote to them what they’re worth until I take care of my financial needs and produce sources of reliable residual income.

      Some day I will write my novels. Just not today.

Leave a Reply

