Steady Income as a Freelancer

While I enjoy the flexibility and the variety of freelancing, the ups-and-downs make it rather difficult to predict revenues and expenses.  Simply put neither good work nor a lot of work necessarily mean steady income.

So, what’s a writer to do?  I’ve been looking into the following options:

1) Get a Full-Time Job

Many writers do this, whether the job involves writing or something else.  I’ve resisted this possibility because of the needs of my children, but it’s still worth considering.

Pros:

  • Regular pay check
  • Benefits
  • Predictable hours

Cons:

  • Difficulty finding suitable employment in this area
  • Lack of flexibility
  • Commuting
  • Difficulty “replacing” me as a stay-at-home mom
  • Too much time away from my writing
  • Lost opportunities to meet the needs of clients

2) Get a Part-Time Job

This is another possibility, one that I’m looking into more enthusiastically.

Pros:

  • Regular pay check
  • Predictable hours

Cons:

  • Difficulty finding suitable employment in this area
  • Often overqualified for available positions
  • Lack of flexibility
  • Commuting

3) Get a Part-Time Telecommuting Job

This would solve several problems, but introduces another.

Pros:

  • Regular pay check
  • Predictable hours
  • No commuting
  • Flexibility (maybe)

Cons:

  • Difficulty finding suitable employment in this area
  • Often overqualified for available positions
  • Difficulty sorting out scams

4) Write for a content provider

This is an interesting opportunity that I’ve just started researching.  Previously, the content providers that fell under my radar were less than desirable, but I found a new resource that touted the benefits of some more legitimate enterprises.  I’m already approved for one, and I’m looking into a few others.  I’ll let you know how it goes.

Pros:

  • Regular pay check
  • No commuting
  • Flexibility
  • Advancement opportunities within some of the companies

Cons:

  • Less interesting topics (for some)
  • Relatively low pay

5) Freelancing Part-Time Work

My experience wasn’t sufficient before now, and for some of the positions to which I’m applying it still might not be, but I’ve found a few venues that want to “hire” freelancers on a regular basis.  Some of these positions are with magazines, others are with businesses.

Pros:

  • Regular pay check
  • No commuting
  • Flexibility
  • Decent pay

Cons:

  • Significant competition for available positions

Everything else I’ve tried hasn’t reduced the variability that’s causing my business problems, even when they provide other benefits, like guaranteed payments.

What have you tried?  Has it worked for you?  Are you considering anything new?

About Stephanie Allen Crist

Stephanie created and produces ComeSootheYourAchingSoul.com in answer to a call from God to use her experiences and gifts to help others. Stephanie is also the author of www.StephanieAllenCrist.com and two books that can be found on that site. Stephanie strives to share her love, faith, and talents in an inclusive manner to help others who know spiritual pain and who know the bitter taste of the dregs of despair.
This entry was posted in My Projects and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

