The Advantages of Social Media, Reconnecting, and Asking for Help

The last two weeks have been rather crazy: another broken vehicle, a “new” member of our household, a week of the flu.  So, it was even crazier than usual.  Unfortunately, my busy life has disconnected me from many friends and family members.  There’s so much to do, and so many needs to meet, my own needs frequently fall to the wayside, especially when it comes to keeping in touch with those far-flung people whom I love but don’t have an urgent need to reach out to.

Social media has had a positive impact, getting me back in touch, keeping some sort of tether between me and these lovely people.  It’s not the same as if I could go out and visit or as if I were on the phone with them every day, but it’s a connection.  And, in some cases, it’s a new connection instead of a re-connection.

My published works haven’t reached the point where I’m using social media to do a whole lot of new marketing, though I’ve had some success with it.  Right now, I’ve had much more success building my readership, including my pre-readership.  And that’s a great resource that isn’t touted as much for new writers.

Writers need an audience.  Unless your work is read, writing isn’t communication.  Sure, some people “do it for themselves,” but I don’t see much point in that.  Writing itself is empty without someone to read it.  That doesn’t mean that it has to be widely read to be of value; just one reader makes a work of writing into a work of communication.

I have been finishing up two novellas, and I wanted to get as much quality feedback as I could on both of them before I finalize and submit them.  This is where social media comes in.  I reached out to my friends and family, and before I knew it I had a whole bunch of pre-readers.  When the time comes, they’ll probably want to check out the finished, published product, too.

So, don’t wait.  Reach out now.  Ask for help preparing your manuscripts for submission.  Post links to your published work.  You don’t need 10,000 followers and a published book to build a following.  A few readers can go a long way.

About Stephanie Allen Crist

Stephanie created and produces ComeSootheYourAchingSoul.com in answer to a call from God to use her experiences and gifts to help others. Stephanie is also the author of www.StephanieAllenCrist.com and two books that can be found on that site. Stephanie strives to share her love, faith, and talents in an inclusive manner to help others who know spiritual pain and who know the bitter taste of the dregs of despair.
This entry was posted in My Projects and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Advantages of Social Media, Reconnecting, and Asking for Help

  1. Pingback: The Advantages of Social Media « kaclang0421

  2. Sue says:

    Stephanie,
    I think you are very smart to reach out now and as one of your pre-readers, I am looking forward to your first novel.

Leave a Reply

