A New Business Plan: Part 9—Using Your Plan

A business plan is only as good as the use you put it to.  While a business plan is a fluid document you will revisit and revise, it is also a tool you use to plan out the work you need to do to achieve your goals.  So, you must use the business plan to guide your work.

As part of my plan, I typically break down the first year into quarters.  I then break down the work of the first quarter into months, and break down the work of the first month into weeks, and break down the work of the current week into days.  Which tasks I choose to do on any given day is somewhat flexible, depending on my energy, my interest and my mood.  But I try not to let lack of energy, flagging interest or bad moods get in the way of my progress.  Some days I need to focus on easier tasks to push through to a place where I can do more difficult things.  Some days I jump right into the most difficult tasks.  Other days I may work through easier tasks and decide I’m not up to the more difficult tasks.  Flexibility is very important.  If you try to force yourself to do something you’re not up to, you may find that you wear yourself out instead of moving yourself forward.

Yet, as important as flexibility is, the purpose of the plan is to keep you on target and on task.  Use your plan to guide your choices each day.

About Stephanie Allen Crist

Stephanie created and produces ComeSootheYourAchingSoul.com in answer to a call from God to use her experiences and gifts to help others. Stephanie is also the author of www.StephanieAllenCrist.com and two books that can be found on that site. Stephanie strives to share her love, faith, and talents in an inclusive manner to help others who know spiritual pain and who know the bitter taste of the dregs of despair.
This entry was posted in My Projects, Self-Promotion and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

