Mixing Storylines

As you may be aware, in season 2 of Nikita, Michael and Nikita get together, struggling between the hopes of one day having a “normal” family and their calling of achieving justice in a world of spying, assassination, and intrigue.  In the current season of Bones (I think this is season 7), Bones and Booth just had a baby, and Bones is struggling with going back to work.

In my reading life, I’m reading a YA Pern novel to my son, re-reading Son of Shadows by Juliet Marillier for personal pleasure, and reading classic literary criticism (currently a work by Horace) for class.

I awoke, groggy after only a few hours of sleep, with the remnants of a confused dream echoing through my mind.  Somehow, in my dream, those storylines twisted and a Nikita-like character was holding a baby and the Michael-like character was trying to convince her to be a stay-at-home mom, except they were set in a Sevenwaters-like environment with satyrs running around them in the shadows.

In the waking world, I keep my multitude of projects straight without bleed-through (at least, I hope I do; I haven’t been told anything to the contrary), but my mind longs to connect the dots, mix up the storylines.  My dreams allow for this.  This dreamworld is like the faucet that pours all my waking thoughts into the boiling cauldron of the unconscious, spurting up new takes on tried-and-true ideas.  It is from this cauldron of the unconscious that I pull the new from the boiled fragments of the old.

About Stephanie Allen Crist

Stephanie created and produces ComeSootheYourAchingSoul.com in answer to a call from God to use her experiences and gifts to help others. Stephanie is also the author of www.StephanieAllenCrist.com and two books that can be found on that site. Stephanie strives to share her love, faith, and talents in an inclusive manner to help others who know spiritual pain and who know the bitter taste of the dregs of despair.
This entry was posted in Storytelling and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mixing Storylines

  1. acflory says:

    For me dreams are like a release valve for my subconscious. Lately all the ones I can remember have been ‘working’ dreams about writing. Not specific writing elements just the hard work side of trying to be creative. I’m taking this to mean I need to walk away from the computer and go do some gardening therapy 😀

  2. Interesting. Release valve is a good description of it. Though, I tend to let any dreams that resemble my actual life go like vapor–not worth remembering. Not much into gardening myself. My thumb is more of a brackish brown than green, at least so my plants tell me.

Leave a Reply

