Late, But Awarded

So, last week was a wash.  The week before I tried to do all my business work while helping my mom move into the new house she bought.  Then, last week, I tried to do all the business work I didn’t get done.  The result was a bout of illness that left me weak and unproductive.  When I finally got around to checking the blogs I read, I discovered that acflory of Meeka’s Mind had selected me for a blogger award:  Tell me about yourself.  In short, this post should have been up way before now, but now it’s up, finally.  (I’ll be posting Tuesday’s marketing post a bit late to give this post time to be seen.)

So these are the rules:  I write 7 things about myself that I haven’t revealed before and then I nominate 7 bloggers for the same award.  And I’m supposed to copy/paste the award into my blog.  We’ll see how this works, considering there are so few writing blogs that I interact with directly; mostly I just read what others write and keep notes on what I learn.  So, I’ll have to pull names from my other blog, through which I do more interacting with other writers.  Oh, and I don’t do much with graphics, so I’ll have to figure that out, too.

Oh, and between all my online writings it’s difficult to know what I’ve revealed and what I haven’t, so this might not all be new.  Well, here it goes:

1. I once wrote a story that was some cross between horror and very angry women’s lit and was advised by a man in prison that what I wrote was anatomically impossible.  Luckily, I’ve never had the need or the desire to test that theory.

2. My filing system for keeping track of novel ideas is designed to lose ideas.  I don’t throw them away, but I don’t keep track of them either.  I figure if they’re good enough to be written, they’ll resurface when I’m ready for them.

3. The first, very unpublishable copy of my first novel—which still isn’t publishable—is sitting in a sealed, plastic box at my feet.  This is a humbling reminder of what I’ve left undone.  It’s also the only copy of the original, completed story that has survived the many computer changes and advancements of technology that have occurred since the story was written.  (I do have other, more polished copies saved to disk and hard drive, however.)

4. The very first time I was “published” was when I was ten or eleven years old.  It was a class project that I wrote with a friend.  (Her name, Leandra, still fascinates me and will undoubtedly end up in a story at some point.)  Sadly, I have no idea where the storybook ended up.  But it was bound and illustrated and everything.

5. My first foray into poetry was for an independent elective class I took in Middle School (7th grade).  I started writing poetry, because I needed to produce something and couldn’t figure out an appropriate ending for any of the three short stories I’d started.  My teacher was so impressed with the poems I’d written, calling them “raw, like Emily Dickinson,” that she published them in a school handout.  Of course, I had to go out and buy a copy of Emily Dickinson’s work then, because I’d never heard of her.

6. My first professionally published (meaning I got paid) piece was another poem.  This poem I’d written strictly to fill out the quota; they’d asked for three poems, and I only had two polished poems ready.  So, I whipped up a third and that’s the one they wanted.  Go figure!

7. The most I’ve ever been paid for a piece of freelance writing (not copywriting or marketing) is one that doesn’t show up in my portfolio, because I didn’t receive a byline.  But I did (and I hope I will continue to) receive more work from the editor.

So, now for the nominations:

1. First, I chose C. Hope Clark, because I read a lot of what she writes and have found her work to be very informative.  She also has a book for sale!

2. Nancy Kress, because she’s a wonderful writer, and her blog seems rather open to responses.  She has lots of books for sale!

3. Elesia, because she writes the kind of stuff I love to read, though her novel isn’t published yet…I’m very confident it will be and I’ll be here to spread the word when it is.

4. DSWalker, because her message and the book that goes along with that message always deserves attention.

5. Rachel, though she’s not blogging at this site anymore, because her message also deserves attention, always.

6. Estee, because she writes beautifully and with meaning, and because I don’t know how I would have found my way without her.

7. Maddy, because I recently learned her novel is ready for submission, and I’m very excited for her great success!

And so, I guess that’s that.  Good luck, everyone and keep writing!

About Stephanie Allen Crist

Stephanie created and produces ComeSootheYourAchingSoul.com in answer to a call from God to use her experiences and gifts to help others. Stephanie is also the author of www.StephanieAllenCrist.com and two books that can be found on that site. Stephanie strives to share her love, faith, and talents in an inclusive manner to help others who know spiritual pain and who know the bitter taste of the dregs of despair.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Late, But Awarded

  1. acflory says:

    Yay! I’m glad you did it but I do apologize for dumping you in the deep end as well. I read all 7 of your secrets but the one that had me roaring my head off was no. 1. If at some point you’d care to elucidate how come a guy in prison was reading ‘angry chick lit’ I’d be grateful. And then I’d love to know just exactly what was anatomically impossible!!!!!! Now I’ll go check out some of your nominees 😀

  2. See your post for an explanation in the comment section…for some reason the more elaborate version seems safer over there.

Leave a Reply

