Trailer Time: My Sparkling Misfortune

So, when I first saw this trailer, I didn’t have much to say about it.  I figured I’d move on and find one that better suited my kind of analysis.  See, the way I saw it there was little for me to comment on.  It was cleverly done, and I’m sure it’s effective for the right audience, but I’m not the right audience.  Of course, there were some minor flaws, too, but nothing worth making a fuss about.  So, I thought about looking for something more suitable, and then I stopped.

Take a moment to watch the video:

Now, instead of dissecting the video and trying to pull out what works or what doesn’t, I just want to take a moment to appreciate the pure subjectivity involved in such an assessment.  The first step (according to me) of marketing for authors is 1) Find your readers.

While there is such a thing as good marketing and bad marketing, it’s also true that marketing is wholly subjective.  For example, an advertisement I saw recently involved “Mayhem” explaining why a more comprehensive motorcycle insurance plan would be beneficial.  This ad is never going to work for me.  I don’t own a motorcycle.  I don’t want to own a motorcycle.  Nobody in my family is going to own a motorcycle; at least, I won’t be footing the bill for insurance if they do.  I’m just not the right audience for the ad.  So, while I could say what works and what doesn’t, the point is that my opinion doesn’t count for much because I’d never be a successful sale, no matter how good the ad.

Book trailers, for the most part, aren’t quite to that extreme.  Books, particularly novels, are not about need (i.e., I don’t need motorcycle insurance), but about entertainment.  Readers can and do break out of expectations, including their own, in what they choose to read.  Sometimes it’s because of an ad and sometimes it’s because of word of mouth or an attractive cover or convenience or something else.  But, for the most part, readers look for stuff they know they like, therefore, the marketing that works and the marketing relies heavily on what they do and do not like.  Even a bad ad can work if the person really likes the product and just needs a reminder.

This is not a bad ad.  I think it’s a pretty good one, actually, but it annoys me.  It’s not the kind of book I like and the ad reflects that.  The humor doesn’t work for me.  The point of view doesn’t work for me.  The situation doesn’t work for me.  Assuming these are all accurately reflected in the book trailer, the book doesn’t work for me, so, the ad doesn’t work for me either.

But I think it’s still a good ad, because I think it would work for those who would enjoy the book.  So, this time around I’m going to ask you:  Do you like humor books and/or books with villains as the main character?  If so, do you think this ad works?  What works?  What doesn’t?  Was the book trailer successful in piquing your interest in the book?

About Stephanie Allen Crist

Stephanie created and produces ComeSootheYourAchingSoul.com in answer to a call from God to use her experiences and gifts to help others. Stephanie is also the author of www.StephanieAllenCrist.com and two books that can be found on that site. Stephanie strives to share her love, faith, and talents in an inclusive manner to help others who know spiritual pain and who know the bitter taste of the dregs of despair.
This entry was posted in Trailer Time and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Trailer Time: My Sparkling Misfortune

  1. acflory says:

    lmao – I don’t normally read humour but I’ve broken out of the mold a little recently and I must say the premise of a villain tied to a ‘something good’ does make me smile because I can see how it would lead to some very interesting situations. So yes, this did work for me and in fact by the end of the clip I was thinking that I might just check this one out for the kindle. The tongue in cheek music fit the whole clip as well. Thumbs up on this one 🙂

  2. I thought you’d like this one. Maybe I’m just in a dark phase, as my own fiction would attest, but humor just doesn’t suit me. I either want something that explores the darkness or fights it full-throttle.

Leave a Reply

