Marketing Basics: Bringing Them Home

Let’s say you have a book published—it doesn’t matter how—and you’re trying to market it.  What is the one basic piece of marketing you need?

A home base!

Everything comes back to that, and in the world we live in, that home base is not your office, your home, or any other physical location.  It’s online!

You need a one-stop-shop for people to come, see your book(s), learn about you, get your pitch, and buy your book(s).  And you have to make it 100% easy to find.  They should be able to find it by searching you by name.  Hopefully even if they butcher your name because they heard someone mention you and didn’t get a proper spelling.  They should be able to find it by searching your book by its title.  Again with the butchering.

Make it easy.

So, here’s a little story:  When I first decided to go all-out I’d been published under the name Stephanie Allen.  I’d been published under the name Stephanie Crist.  The web addresses for both were taken.  So, I tried StephanieAllenCrist.  Ah!  That was available.  Now, I try to get published under Stephanie Allen Crist, but it still happens—sometimes it’s Stephanie Allen and sometimes it’s Stephanie Crist.  Say-la-vee.  (Again with the butchering!)

If it’s Stephanie Crist, I make the top ten hits.  If it’s Stephanie Allen, I make the top twenty.  You add either fantasy or autism and one of my sites makes number one.  Of course, if you do Stephanie Allen Crist my pages totally dominate the top ten.

This is the power of a name.  My name isn’t some sort of super identifiable piece of wonderful, either.  Stephanie is common.  Allen is common.  Crist is too easily Christ, but it’s not like there’s not enough Crists out there to throw people off the scent.

I have not yet published a book.  But I’ve invested a good deal of time making sure that people can find me when I do.

Home Base = Home Run!!!

About Stephanie Allen Crist

Stephanie created and produces ComeSootheYourAchingSoul.com in answer to a call from God to use her experiences and gifts to help others. Stephanie is also the author of www.StephanieAllenCrist.com and two books that can be found on that site. Stephanie strives to share her love, faith, and talents in an inclusive manner to help others who know spiritual pain and who know the bitter taste of the dregs of despair.
This entry was posted in Marketing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Marketing Basics: Bringing Them Home

  1. acflory says:

    A timely reminder I need to do something about my new website. -sigh-

  2. Websites are essential for the self-published writer. Clarity over thrill, not too fancy, not too simple. It’s a difficult balance, but we’ve got to try.

Leave a Reply

