Marketing Strategy: Reaching Out to Book Clubs

Who reads books?  Readers do, yes.  Where can you find a bunch of readers?  In book clubs!  After all, book club members are invested in reading and so, if you can find book clubs that read the kind of work you write, then you want to have a relationship with them if at all possible.

I was recently approached on LinkedIn to take a look at a site that offers services to both authors and readers.  If you take a look around, then you’ll see they offer a variety of marketing/advertising packages that seek to pair authors with book clubs for mutual benefit.  (This is not an endorsement of their service—I’ve never used it—but merely an example of what’s available.)

For the DIY marketer (those of us with more time than money), you can create your own press releases, distribute them, research book clubs, approach them, and all this stuff on your own.  It’s time-consuming, of course, but it’s possible.

But, why would you bother?  After all, there are a lot more readers out there who don’t participate in book clubs.

But book club members tend to be avid, dedicated readers.  They are something of a captive audience, too, because you convince the club (not each individual reader) to read your book.  You can up the ante, as it were, by offering (and following through) to talk with members about your book.  This produces a connection, a relationship, and if done well, it encourages these readers to become fans—which, of course, means repeat sales.

If you were to pursue this possibility, how would you want to approach book clubs?  Which book clubs would fit with your writing?  Think about it.  It just might be worth the time/money.

About Stephanie Allen Crist

Stephanie created and produces ComeSootheYourAchingSoul.com in answer to a call from God to use her experiences and gifts to help others. Stephanie is also the author of www.StephanieAllenCrist.com and two books that can be found on that site. Stephanie strives to share her love, faith, and talents in an inclusive manner to help others who know spiritual pain and who know the bitter taste of the dregs of despair.
This entry was posted in Marketing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Marketing Strategy: Reaching Out to Book Clubs

  1. acflory says:

    Interesting new avenue to think about. I might check out to see if any book clubs do science fiction.

    • There are, most definitely. And, because science fiction is such a peculiar niche (that is a compliment, especially coming from me 😉 ), there are bound to be other, similar opportunities. For example, if your story is something that can be developed into an RPG, then you can approach RPG groups and get them to read it, with a brief template for a game as a bonus.

      The trick about good marketing is not to think so mucch about what has been done or what should be done for a book; but to think about what will work for your book. 🙂

      • acflory says:

        As you know I’m a gamer myself so I’m fascinated by the idea of a book club of RPGers. I assume this is something like the old Dungeons and Dragons games played on paper? I haven’t actually done anything like that but I think that’s how it’d done. Will check it out!

      • I know you’re a gamer, that’s whyI mentioned it! 😉

        Like I’ve said, I’ve never really gotten that much into gaming, but I’ve seen my husband and his fellows make games from books or from scratch. They sit around the table, telling their story, with each player making choices and the GM in control (with the help of the dice) of consequences.

        From chat rooms for gamers to these circles, you could find a rich audience you could cater to.

      • acflory says:

        Thank you 🙂 I never would have even considered it if you hadn’t mentioned it! This is the kind of avenue I could enjoy. 😀

      • I’m glad I could help. Keep this in mind: If you start with your interests and work your way out from there, you’re more likely to find readers who share your interests AND will be interested in your work. 🙂 This is why being true to yourself in your writing and in your marketing is so important.

      • acflory says:

        lol – therein lies a problem! I find it hard enough to meet people who share my odd ball interests in real life, let alone in my writing! But the gaming aspect is most definitely one that I will try.

      • I, too, have a difficult time finding people who share my interests in real life–defining “real life” as physical reality. But the Internet creates a whole new “real life” where all the odd balls all across the globe can gather and congregate and share their interests. When that happens, the numbers add up fast, which is also why it’s important to make sure your work is readily available online!

      • acflory says:

        Hey! Welcome back. 🙂 I was just wondering if I should send the search parties out looking for you.

        Seriously, it’s lovely to see you back. I hope all is well and you’ve just been working extraordinarily hard on The Book?

Leave a Reply

