Marketing Serialized Short Fiction in the Digital Age

Can it be done?  Would it work?

I don’t know.

If I had the electronic infrastructure, I would give it a try.  But I’m not sure what I would need.  I know my website would need to have one of those electronic carts and there should probably also be a subscription option.  Automatic delivery would be a plus.

My initial research indicates that a shilling is roughly equal to 25 US cents.  Considering entire novels are being sold for 99 US cents, 25 cents seems like a fair price.  Though, 10 US cents might be closer to the perceived market value.

But I would need to be able to distribute each segment electronically for a low cost to make it worth it.  A PDF file sounds right.  Not a full-blown convertible file, but a straight PDF.  The point would be to make each segment short enough to be comfortably read on a regular computer screen—though I have been told that some hand-held devices can read PDFs, I haven’t tested that myself.

Is it feasible?  Would it be worth it?

Part of me wants to try it to find out.  If, for no other reason, than because the biggest problem I have with short fiction is that I want the “good stuff,” the stories that really grab me, to keep going, and when I try to write short fiction, they usually do, and because not every story is suited to the structure of a novel even if it keeps going.

I know how to do PDFs, and I have the software required.  I wonder, what it would take to get a shopping cart on my website?

About Stephanie Allen Crist

Stephanie created and produces ComeSootheYourAchingSoul.com in answer to a call from God to use her experiences and gifts to help others. Stephanie is also the author of www.StephanieAllenCrist.com and two books that can be found on that site. Stephanie strives to share her love, faith, and talents in an inclusive manner to help others who know spiritual pain and who know the bitter taste of the dregs of despair.
This entry was posted in Marketing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Marketing Serialized Short Fiction in the Digital Age

  1. acflory says:

    What an interesting idea! Please keep us updated if you do go ahead.

    • I will be giving this a try and I’m working on the length/frequency and see how well that fits with the story I want to tell. From the looks of it, the end product will be roughly the size of a book, but won’t have the shape of a novel. I’m think I’ll either break it into 52 segments all of roughly the same length or 18 segments with the last one being shorter. The answer I settle on with determine the price I set for it, with a subscription option either way.

      • acflory says:

        That seems like a great idea. I know another writer friend of mine – Candy Korman – is thinking about doing a serialization as well so I’m going to be watching both of you very carefully.

        I sort of serialized a part of my nano novel back in November but that was just for fun and I soon realised how hard it was to make each post interesting in its own right.

        I wonder if this will be a new trend?

Leave a Reply

