Trailer Time: Hope

I’m still working with themes to get myself back in the game.  This week’s theme is hope.  So, I did a search for “fantasy book trailers hope” and the first several I looked at were good trailers, but didn’t really fit the theme.

Take a look to see why this one does…

This is a two-volume series that combines some interesting elements.  First, it has a fantasy angle with its fairy realm.  Second, it has a sci-fi angle with its alien invasion.  Third, it has a religious angle with its gift from God.  Admittedly, I’m a bit skeptical that those three angles can be successfully interwoven, but there is this thing we call a triangle that suggests it’s possible.  Regardless, there is definitely a message of hope within the books.

Perhaps more importantly for our purposes, this is an attractive, visually stimulating book trailer that manages to look sufficiently professional without going overboard on the expense side of things.  So many authors want to promote their work but have very little in the way of resources that it’s always a bit inspiring to see someone pull of an effective trailer on a tight budget.

In this case, the drawings could come across as unprofessional.  They look not unlike the drawings I make for my own writing.  But that’s also why they work.  It offers insight into how the author sees these characters.  It personalizes the communication.  It’s a quiet, subtle way to say, “Come take a look at what was in my head while I wrote that.”  Fans love that sort of thing!

So, even when you don’t have much of a budget, there are ways to create a visually effective, personalized book trailer—without, um, stealing.

About Stephanie Allen Crist

Stephanie created and produces ComeSootheYourAchingSoul.com in answer to a call from God to use her experiences and gifts to help others. Stephanie is also the author of www.StephanieAllenCrist.com and two books that can be found on that site. Stephanie strives to share her love, faith, and talents in an inclusive manner to help others who know spiritual pain and who know the bitter taste of the dregs of despair.
This entry was posted in Trailer Time and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Trailer Time: Hope

  1. acflory says:

    I’m afraid the triangle of fantasy, sci-fi and religion just didn’t work for me but thank you so much for picking this particular trailer! The reason I’m so pleased with it is because of the music. I’ve heard of Kevin McLeod. I’ve even listened to some of his free stuff while toying with the idea of doing my own book trailer. Unfortunately the snippets I heard didn’t ‘fit’. But the music in this trailer shows what he is truly capable of, and I loved it. 😀

  2. I didn’t even think about the music! lol

    Well, I like fantasy, and sci-fi, and religious stories…but I just don’t see all three mixing all that well. It’s something I’ve toyed with myself in the past, and each time I’ve found something’s got to give. This comes across more like trying to please the widest possible audience, but risking breaking too many taboos in the process. I might give it a try, but probably not. Though, I do think the trailer is a good example for other writers, so I just might have to give the author the benefit of the doubt.

Leave a Reply

