Trailer Time: Not Your Ordinary Trailer

I’m a mom.  I’m also a reader.  As a mom and a reader (actually, I was a reader first, but let’s not quibble), I buy books for myself and for my children.  (I also buy books for other people, but, again, let’s not quibble.)

This brings up a twist in marketing.  What do you do when your target reading audience is different than your target buying audience?  Well, one approach is to target the reading audience in the hopes that they’ll nag and pester the buying audience into making the purchase.

Here’s another approach:

This advertisement does NOT target children, it targets adults who care about children, who want to support who their children are, and who want to give their children the gift of reading by giving them books they will enjoy.

This is a different kind of trailers, so let’s take a different approach:  Why did this video convince me that I should get a Watchers book for my child?

(For those of you who don’t know, I have a son who I read with regularly, who is fourteen years old, intelligent, enjoys stories, but is also socially awkward and has a slight developmental delay.  He has a diagnosis of autism.  He loves video games.  We’ve read the Chronicles of Narnia, as well as books by Madeleine L’Engle and other authors in the children’s fantasy/SF genres, and we are currently reading “The Speaker for the Dead” by Orson Scott Card.)

Once you’ve thought about (and perhaps left a comment about) why you think this video worked on me, then I want you to think of what you could do to market your work to a buying audience that is not necessarily your reading audience (feel free to leave another comment).  If you need some help, then think about potential book buyers:  book store owners, librarians, schools are all fairly common and universal examples.  Parents, grandparents, friends are also common examples.  Feel free to think of uncommon examples, too.

Next week, if nobody has guessed, I’ll leave a comment explaining the success of this video.  In the meantime, if you are an author who is interested in digital publishing (and all the work that goes with it) but is intimidated by self-publishing, you might want to check out the sponsor of the above video.

About Stephanie Allen Crist

Stephanie created and produces ComeSootheYourAchingSoul.com in answer to a call from God to use her experiences and gifts to help others. Stephanie is also the author of www.StephanieAllenCrist.com and two books that can be found on that site. Stephanie strives to share her love, faith, and talents in an inclusive manner to help others who know spiritual pain and who know the bitter taste of the dregs of despair.
This entry was posted in Trailer Time and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Trailer Time: Not Your Ordinary Trailer

  1. acflory says:

    You raise some interesting questions Stephanie. I would guess your children might relate to the perspective of the ‘outsider’. I know I did. From the moment he started talking I was hooked. I didn’t come from a disadvantaged background but I did grow up the outsider and books were my constant companions. They helped me make sense of the world around me, and they helped me make sense of my difference as well. I’m tempted to buy one of the Watchers just to see if the author fulfills his promise. 🙂

    • They would certain relate to the perspective of the outsider! 🙂 The main thing that “sold” me was the idea of this “boy” who had been there, and yet was looking back with a bit more wisdom, but just as much passion, and who not only wanted to reach out to those kids who felt outside of things, but also wanted to add something more.

      I also like to offer Willy, in particular, books that he can get used to–series work better for him, because change is difficult. It’s easier for him to maintain interest if something stays the same. Like with the Chronicles of Narnia. It’s not the same characters, but it’s the same world and it’s the same rules and that helps ground him in the story.

      Reading to Willy has helped me to get a better sense of just how important the rules of the milieu can be for some readers.

      • acflory says:

        I’ve always believed that fiction could be a powerful tool but it never occurred to me that it might be useful in autism as well. Does Willy see the underlying moral principles of Narnia? Or is he just enthralled with the story?

      • Social stories, which tend to be shorter and more obvious than traditional fiction and are also based on more realistic, everyday situations, are actually a tried-and-true method of teaching social skills and ethical values to children with autism.

        Fiction does much the same at a different level, especially if the material is discussed by someone who knows what they’re doing. Me, for example. That’s one of the reasons why we read together even though he’s old enough and skilled enough to read on his own.

        Willy does understand the underlying moral principles of Narnia. Perhaps it’s the difference of being raised in a Christian household, but he “gets” Narnia on a more conscious level than I did when I first read it.

        I do tend to talk him through some of the finer points. Some of the symbolism (like Eustace’s “dragon skin”) is difficult for him to grasp, but the lesson itself is something he gets pretty well.

      • acflory says:

        I can’t remember when I first read Narnia, but I’m pretty sure it was late teens, and I did not realise the underlying ‘message’ until Aslan dies/is sacrificed. That’s when it hit me.

        I think I learned about the concepts of honour and integrity as much from fiction as from my Catholic upbringing.

        Your Willy sounds as if he will grow up to be a young man of strong principles. You’re doing a great job.

      • I also learned about honor and integrity from fiction, particularly from fantasy. We idealize the time of knights and wizards in our fiction, but that ideal is something that really draws me in.

        I was younger when I read Narnia for the first time, and I had no formal Christian education and very little informal Christian education. I didn’t see the symbolism; I didn’t have the knowledge. But I certainly felt the message.

        Still, I was crushed when I got to the Last Battle. I just didn’t understand how death could be a happy ending, whatever was on the other side of it.

        And yes, Willy is a strong principled young man and will grow up to be a strong, good man. My only worry is that his neurology will be used against him and he won’t be given the opportunity to live the life he was meant to live.

Leave a Reply

