Prompt 2: Your Book

If you have a published book, this prompt is for you.

Goal:  Build your reading audience.

Strategy:  Raise awareness about your website.

Prompt:  Pick one great thing about your website that readers will like and tell them about it.

Alternative Prompt:  If you take a look at your website and don’t see anything great, then think of something great to put on your website and get it up there!

Building your reading audience is a long-term goal.  A lot of writers I’ve seen like to jump right to selling their book.  This seems like a fine idea, except it’s not.

Most writing careers are built on a body of work.  This body of works sells to a body of fans.  These fans buy those books because they believe in the author.

In order to build your career, then, you need two things:  1) a body of work and 2) a body of fans who believe in you.

Nowadays, you have a great tool to build a relationship with current and potential readers:  Your website.  Use it!  Draw people to it!  Satisfy them when they get there.  Make it worth their while to come.

About Stephanie Allen Crist

Stephanie created and produces ComeSootheYourAchingSoul.com in answer to a call from God to use her experiences and gifts to help others. Stephanie is also the author of www.StephanieAllenCrist.com and two books that can be found on that site. Stephanie strives to share her love, faith, and talents in an inclusive manner to help others who know spiritual pain and who know the bitter taste of the dregs of despair.
This entry was posted in Marketing, Prompt and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Prompt 2: Your Book

  1. acflory says:

    I had to smile when I read this Stephanie. A couple of months ago I wrote a how-to post – about uploading pictures from my phone to the pc. First month very few views. Second month, I’m getting more views for that one post than all the rest combined. The search engines are literally dumping people on my doorstep. I even had one person comment about how good the post was. But most of those people read and run, rarely checking out anything else on my blog. So I have a weird bit of success [for my technical writing] but not for my fiction. I honestly feel as if I’m in competition with myself. 😦

Leave a Reply

