Prompt 5: Connect as a Fan

Goal:  Build your reading audience.

Strategy:  Make a friend.

Prompt:  What do you like to read?  Think of a living writer whose work you enjoy and reach out to that person in a non-stalker-like fashion.

Writing is a lonely business.  Most of us want to connect with others, especially other writers.

Sure, there’re leagues involved.  You don’t pitch yourself as a friend to a bestselling writer if all you have in common with them is that you write and you’re one of their millions of readers.

If you reach out to someone who is more on par with your writing league, you’re much more likely to strike a match of friendship.  Fueling the fire can help you develop a lasting and gratifying friendship, but can also help you both enhance your readerships by exposing your own readers to each other’s work.

The key here is to be genuine.  Reach out to someone’s whose work you’ve actually read and genuinely enjoy.  They don’t have to write in the same genre as you do.  But you do need something that draws you to connect.

About Stephanie Allen Crist

Stephanie created and produces ComeSootheYourAchingSoul.com in answer to a call from God to use her experiences and gifts to help others. Stephanie is also the author of www.StephanieAllenCrist.com and two books that can be found on that site. Stephanie strives to share her love, faith, and talents in an inclusive manner to help others who know spiritual pain and who know the bitter taste of the dregs of despair.
This entry was posted in Marketing, Prompt and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Prompt 5: Connect as a Fan

  1. acflory says:

    I agree 110%! After literally years of writing in isolation and never being able to talk about this new, secret, very important thing in my life, suddenly I’ve found friends from all over the world to talk to. And those friendships have been mutually beneficial. It’s so nice to be able to help someone else. It’s also reassuring to be able to swap information about what does and does not work in this wild, wild west of publishing. 🙂

    • Yes, you are quite good at this. Considering how shy you can seem in other respects, I’m glad this is one of the areas you thrive, especially because I get to be one of the people you’ve connected with. 😀

      It’s also a good skill for other writers to learn. Even without the published book under my belt…yet…there are writers who, being both shy and less advanced in their career, are afraid to approach me. If they do so at all, they do so very reluctantly and apologetically. More often, they do so via a mutual friend, and even then have to be coaxed into a discussion when told I’m open to it.

      Now, granted, when I’m fighting for my family I can be quite ferocious. My husband has conveyed quite convincingly that others can find me rather intimidating. Even people who tower over me, could probably bench press me (and I’m a heavy-set woman), and curse like that proverbial drunken sailor, find me rather intimidating.

      So, maybe I just put people off. *shrugs* I don’t know why, which is probably part of the problem. But, the point is that writers need to connect and as long as you don’t reach too far out into the blue, you’re probably going to find someone reaching right back.

      • acflory says:

        I’m a hybrid. I love to communicate but I’m terrified of boring people so I see-saw between being outspoken and being shy. But this “you’re probably going to find someone reaching right back” is exactly what I found when I did gather up the courage to reach out.

        The wonderful thing about this whole social media thing, or at least my experience of it, is that the people who have reached back have all been fellow travellers in one way or another so it’s been easy to connect with them. Our shared interests have been like an invisible filter. I literally have not met anyone I did not like. That has been the most unbelievable gift.

Leave a Reply

