Prompt 7: Talk About Yourself

Goal:  Build your skill.

Strategy:  Develop your self-marketing skills.

Prompt:  Talk yourself up.

First, I recognize this is an uncomfortable sort of thing for many writers.  It’s uncomfortable for me, too.  I’m uncomfortable with other people praising me, let alone me praising myself.

But…it’s an important skill.  A writer should be able to honestly and attractively describe him or herself.

I am an intelligent, well-educated, talented writer and thinker, and I also happen to be a dedicated mother of children with special needs.

This is an honest appraisal of myself.  I can back this up with facts and other people’s opinions.  I can put forward logical proof to support each of these statements.  In fact, most people who know me well would take this much, much farther.  Again, this is a fact.

It’s taken me a long time to be able to come out and say this.  I am an intelligent, well-educated, talented writer and thinker.  I am a dedicated mother who works hard, often successfully, on behalf of my children with special needs.  I’ve built a career and a lifestyle out of these two sets of attributes.

And yet, admitting them like this is difficult for me.  It takes practice.  It takes saying it in your head and writing it in private until you build up an immunity to the squirmmies inside of you.  If you can’t say three things about yourself that will honestly attract readers, then you need to start practicing now.  Start by listening to what other people say about you—the good stuff, mind.  Say it to yourself.  Try to believe it.  Try to say it like you believe.

I know it’s difficult.  Go ahead and squirm.  If you keep at it, though, you’ll get to the point where you can share it with the world.

About Stephanie Allen Crist

Stephanie created and produces ComeSootheYourAchingSoul.com in answer to a call from God to use her experiences and gifts to help others. Stephanie is also the author of www.StephanieAllenCrist.com and two books that can be found on that site. Stephanie strives to share her love, faith, and talents in an inclusive manner to help others who know spiritual pain and who know the bitter taste of the dregs of despair.
This entry was posted in Marketing, Prompt and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Prompt 7: Talk About Yourself

  1. acflory says:

    Gah… SUPER squirmy. 😦

Leave a Reply

