An Author’s Website: A Non-Example

Think of your website as your online home.  This is where people come to visit with you, to talk with you, to learn more about you, and to develop a relationship with you.

Your website should reflect who you are and what you are offering to the world.

Now, take a moment to go visit my website:  www.StephanieAllenCrist.com

I’ll wait.

Are you back?

Okay, then.

This is NOT how to go about creating an author’s website.

I’m telling you this, because:

  1. I’m working on a new website that will better reflect how I want to engage the world.
  2. If your website looks like mine, then you should, too.

A website should not be static, it should not be boring, it should not be easy to glance over and forget.  A website should work for you, which means it should be individualized and it also means that it should, well, work.

My website has been stagnant for a while, in part because I don’t need it to work for me, at least not yet, and in part because I lack the skill to make it work for me easily.

These are obviously excuses.  So, what’s your excuses?  What would you like to have?  What are you willing to build?

P.S.  If there’s anything you’d like to see on my site, please let me know!  Thanks!!!

About Stephanie Allen Crist

Stephanie created and produces ComeSootheYourAchingSoul.com in answer to a call from God to use her experiences and gifts to help others. Stephanie is also the author of www.StephanieAllenCrist.com and two books that can be found on that site. Stephanie strives to share her love, faith, and talents in an inclusive manner to help others who know spiritual pain and who know the bitter taste of the dregs of despair.
This entry was posted in Marketing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to An Author’s Website: A Non-Example

  1. acflory says:

    I have a website that is just as static. I’ve been thinking about getting a new one built – professionally this time – but I can’t afford it yet. I also have a fundamental ambivalence about it. My blog on WordPress has become my home away from home, and I’m loathe to give up the presence I’ve already made online for the sake of a lonely website. I keep asking myself if I really /need/ it. 😦

    • Er? Your blog is your website: Home (the blog), About Meeka, ect. All you need is a really good sales page for your book on there, and you’re good to go.

      • acflory says:

        Technically I’m not allowed to ‘sell’ from my WordPress.com blog. What I could do is link my domain to wordpress.org [I think] and have the best of both worlds. Unfortunately I’ve come across people who’ve had issues doing that so for now I’m just going to keep procrastinating. 🙂

      • acflory says:

        Why not sell? I’m not sure. Perhaps because WP.com is free they don’t want any form of commercialization?

      • Could it be a Australia thing? I’ve read a lot about monetizing a blog, and have never read anything that would suggest I can’t use by blog to sell something.

      • acflory says:

        I don’t think so. If your blog is based on your own domain name then you’re free to do what you want. I think it’s just the free version of WordPress that has this restriction. The confusion is that there are 2 wordpresses – .com and .org. The .com one is free. The .org one you pay for and can use with your own domain name/website.

      • Hm. I’ll have to look into this.

Leave a Reply

