Warning: Guaranteed Disappointment

When I first started freelancing, I paid for advertisements.  I rarely earned my money’s worth with directory placements or advertisements.  I also tried many of the freelancing sites like Elance, Freelancer, and others.  While I got a little work that way, it wasn’t worth the hassle of sorting through thousands of the low-paying, poor-quality jobs that are abundantly available from all around the world.  We’re talking about jobs that pay $1 or less for 500 words.  I had a lot more success building up a reputation through direct connections.

Then, I got caught up with some long-term projects for a few clients, which have since been completed.  There may be more work in the future from these clients, but for now I’m on my own.  Along with that, I’ve also been cutting back in my solicitations in preparation for working part-time for a regular employer.  When that prospect didn’t pan out as quickly as I’d hoped, I found myself in a bit of a bind.

I need good-paying work and I needed it fast.  But there aren’t many ways to get good-paying work fast in the present economy.  When I saw the advertisement on www.MyWritingJob.com I was skeptical.  But they promised a refund if not wholly satisfied.

I signed up, paid my membership fee, and logged on.  Only to find that they simply collected the thousands of low-paying, poor-quality jobs readily available elsewhere.  Thoroughly disappointed, I demanded my refund.

A week and a half later, I still haven’t received a response, a refund, or even an explanation.  I’ve contacted the Better Business Bureau, and now I’m warning you.  www.MyWritingJob.com is a scam.  Steer clear!

*Update:  On August 18, 2013, I received a notice in my inbox that I will be getting my full refund.  This notice did NOT include any other communication.  The money was not deposited in my account by the time I opened the e-mail message.  I will comment to let you know when the funds are received.

About Stephanie Allen Crist

Stephanie created and produces ComeSootheYourAchingSoul.com in answer to a call from God to use her experiences and gifts to help others. Stephanie is also the author of www.StephanieAllenCrist.com and two books that can be found on that site. Stephanie strives to share her love, faith, and talents in an inclusive manner to help others who know spiritual pain and who know the bitter taste of the dregs of despair.
This entry was posted in Business and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Warning: Guaranteed Disappointment

  1. acflory says:

    Bloody hell. That’s terrible Stephanie. I truly hope you manage to get your money back. And thank you for sounding a warning to the rest of us. :/

  2. So, I finally got my refund. BBB came through for me. There’s still a bit of honesty at issue, but I’ll make that note in my complaint and then let it rest.

Leave a Reply

