Trailer Time: Special Effects

I wanted a trailer that made use of simple special effects.  Check out what I found:

First, this proves it’s possible.  This is a short trailer with simple special effects that could, potentially, highlight the trailer’s impact.

Unfortunately, this trailer is also an example of what can happen when you don’t take enough care to ensure your effects don’t spoil the effect you are looking for.

The high-pitched music was the first off-putting element for me.  I very much wanted to turn the volume down, but the trailer was short enough that it didn’t seem worth the bother.

Instead of any kind of voice-over, all you had was the music.  So, because the text blended in with the background, I couldn’t be quite sure what it was saying.  Luckily there wasn’t much text and it was slow enough that I could decode the message.  At least, I think I did.

Unfortunately, the text wasn’t very revealing either.  Is the book about what happens when aliens visit a medieval English town or what happens afterward?  I have no idea who the story is about and I’m not sure what the story is about.  I’m not really interested, because I don’t know enough to be intrigued.

The special effects were interesting and visually appealing, but they didn’t add enough to the actual storytelling purpose of the trailer for me to get much out of them.

All in all, this wasn’t the positive example of attainable special effects I was hoping for.

About Stephanie Allen Crist

Stephanie created and produces ComeSootheYourAchingSoul.com in answer to a call from God to use her experiences and gifts to help others. Stephanie is also the author of www.StephanieAllenCrist.com and two books that can be found on that site. Stephanie strives to share her love, faith, and talents in an inclusive manner to help others who know spiritual pain and who know the bitter taste of the dregs of despair.
This entry was posted in Marketing, Trailer Time and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Trailer Time: Special Effects

  1. acflory says:

    Yeah, I found myself squinting as well. I guess it achieved the effect of making it obvious this was sci-fi. It also gave the title, author and how to buy info, but not much in-between.

Leave a Reply

