Diversifying Your Mediums

I write long.  I think big.  Despite the shortness of these two statements, the truth is that book ideas come more naturally to me than ideas for shorter pieces, especially in fiction.  I often have to work to pare down my book ideas to make even those abide by to the length constraints of a publishable manuscript.

But that doesn’t mean I can ignore the shorter mediums, however much I may want to.  Unfortunately, I usually do, especially when it comes to fiction.  Sure, I produce blog posts.  I produce content for clients.  But I rarely expend the time, energy, and self-constraint required for shorter published pieces.  And I know I’m not the only one with this problem!

So, let’s think of some ways to build our craft by exercising some constraint.  First, I’ll share some of my ideas.  Then, I’d like to hear yours!

Here it goes:

  • Practice makes perfect improvement.
  • Encourage force yourself to do it.
  • Remember your platform.
  • If all else fails, seek DIY publication.

If there’s sufficient interest, I’ll follow up with explanations and opportunities next week.

About Stephanie Allen Crist

Stephanie created and produces ComeSootheYourAchingSoul.com in answer to a call from God to use her experiences and gifts to help others. Stephanie is also the author of www.StephanieAllenCrist.com and two books that can be found on that site. Stephanie strives to share her love, faith, and talents in an inclusive manner to help others who know spiritual pain and who know the bitter taste of the dregs of despair.
This entry was posted in Craftmanship and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Diversifying Your Mediums

  1. acflory says:

    Blog posts I’m fine with, I can even write the odd short story, but the long form is my true comfort zone. Part of the problem is not lack of will, but lack of content. Before I can dash off a short story I have to create the world in which it will happen. The six shorts I’ve written so far were all spawned by a world I started to think about 13 years ago. It may take me another 13 years to write the next six. 😉

Leave a Reply

