What Is Facebook For?

It seems everywhere I turn people are asking me about Facebook.  Part of it is, of course, that I’ve been seeking out what writers want to know about marketing.  Another part is I’ve been serving new clients.  But I can’t help but take it that I should write about Facebook here, too.

So, first let’s clarify what we’re talking about.  See, there are two ways to use Facebook.  One is as a user.  The other is as an advertiser.  Two entirely different uses that can go hand in hand—you can advertise to drive people to your Facebook page, for example.

As a user, you are basically like any other user:  You’re there to interact with others.  If you make anything else your prime objective, you’re misusing the medium.  Sure, you can raise funds, you promote your work, you can offer contests, and you can promote events that promote your work.  But all that stuff will work if and only if your primary purpose is to interact with others.

Unfortunately, for many people this is a game-changing idea.  But the simple truth is if all you care about is selling stuff, there are much better ways to do it.  Facebook isn’t the online spot for you, and neither is Twitter, Google+, or any other social media hang-out.  The key word in social media is social, not selling.

About Stephanie Allen Crist

Stephanie created and produces ComeSootheYourAchingSoul.com in answer to a call from God to use her experiences and gifts to help others. Stephanie is also the author of www.StephanieAllenCrist.com and two books that can be found on that site. Stephanie strives to share her love, faith, and talents in an inclusive manner to help others who know spiritual pain and who know the bitter taste of the dregs of despair.
This entry was posted in Marketing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What Is Facebook For?

  1. acflory says:

    lol – you’ve just explained why I spend so little time on FB. I like interacting with people but the kinds of interaction I see on FB just make me shake my head in bemusement. It also fills me with a kind of juvenile horror. I remember all too well walking into a room full of people and having nothing to say to any of them. Why? Because light hearted chit-chat has always been a foreign language to me. Sadly 50 years on and nothing has changed for the better [in me]. I truly believe some people are just born to be hermits.

    • Sounds to me like you need different friends on Facebook. Sure, there’s light hearted chit-chat for those who are into such things, but there’s also some pretty nifty groups (like Goodreads) and people who actually discuss in-depth stuff.

      But yeah, I know what you’re talking about. Right now my feed is being stuffed full of recipes with pictures. It makes me hungry, but I’m not about to cook any of that stuff.

      Well, to be honest, the hunger probably has more to do with being so busy I forget to eat. But the pictures remind me that I’ve forgotten and tempt me with things I can’t make. 😦

Leave a Reply

