Trailer Time: Why Bother?

This is a departure from my standard operation procedure.  In fact, I’m going to go ahead and break the rules.  I was tired of landing on book trailers for young adult novels, no matter how intriguing (or not) they may turn out to be.  So, I searched for a particular publisher this time to see if they had any book trailers up.  I landed on this:

This trailer is in relation to this book.  This breaks the rules, because I’m supposed to doing trailers for books I have not read and for authors I don’t know.  The reason for this is because, once you read a book or become familiar with an author, then a trailer is not going to be a deciding factor on whether you choose to purchase and/or read a book.  You have far more information to base your decision on, so a trailer will only be a factor at all if you’re ambivalent to the book(s) you’ve read by that author.

Clearly, from my reviews, I’m not ambivalent about the Wheel of Time series.

Then, of course, there’s the other thing.  For example, each book in the Wheel of Time is huge.  It’s an epic story.  If you get sucked in, you’re in, trailer or no trailer.  If you don’t get sucked in, then this trailer isn’t going to make a bit of difference.

I cared about what happens to Morraine, because it’s Morraine and because, all things being equal, Mat is the last person in the world I’d expect to go about saving her.  Thom is more likely, but Mat is just…  Well, he doesn’t like her, he doesn’t trust her, and yet, because she’s a woman and because he was raised with particular values toward women…he has to do it.  Anyway, the point is that if you don’t know any of these people (um, by which, of course, I mean characters, really I do), I can’t imagine that you’d care enough from this trailer to dive into the book (or, better yet, the series) based on the trailer.  If you do care about these people (by which I really mean characters), then why bother with the trailer anyway?  You’re going to read the book because it is the continuing legacy of Robert Jordan.

My point is this:  There are times when you shouldn’t even bother with a trailer, because it’s not going to make a difference.

About Stephanie Allen Crist

Stephanie created and produces ComeSootheYourAchingSoul.com in answer to a call from God to use her experiences and gifts to help others. Stephanie is also the author of www.StephanieAllenCrist.com and two books that can be found on that site. Stephanie strives to share her love, faith, and talents in an inclusive manner to help others who know spiritual pain and who know the bitter taste of the dregs of despair.
This entry was posted in Marketing, Trailer Time and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Trailer Time: Why Bother?

  1. Pingback: To The One I Love, The Book Trailer | Dawn Gena

Leave a Reply

