Recovery Stage 3: Balance and Order

Most of the time, my “organization” is apparent in the results, not in the appearance of order.  I’ve been slacking off in this regard (both at home and at work); but, generally speaking, I know where to find whatever it is that I might need, even if what I need is in a great big pile of things I don’t need at the moment (and may never need again).

When I started back at work, the problem wasn’t so much that my things were in disarray—though, there was some of that.  The problem was that my thoughts were in disarray.  I’ve been starting and stopping, starting and stopping projects for months now.  Picking up the pieces has been a challenge.

My best work is done in a semblance of order.  I want to plan what I will do, when I will do it, and what I’ll need to do it well.  In order to get back to work, I needed a plan.  The initial part of my plan was simple:  Earn enough money to provide for my family’s needs, then earn enough money to support my family in the coming weeks as it coincides with my payment terms.

Based on inspiration I received, I determined that the best route was for me to develop three separate strands and weave them into a threefold cord that would sustain us according to our needs.

If the language sounds familiar, it’s because it’s Biblical.  I am a Christian.  I pray and I act on the guidance I receive.  If you have a problem with that, go read someone else’s blog.  I don’t do apologetics. 😉  Just saying.

I already have one semi-reliable strand in the form of a content writing platform called Scripted.  Scripted doesn’t always have assignments available at the volume I want, but they are reliable and responsible, which makes them a pretty good strand.  In response to an ad, I found an editing job (freelance) that appealed to me, so I applied.  I have received my first assignment and my first payment.  I’m hoping this will develop into another strong strand, but that remains to be seen.  Finally, there’s that job I mentioned—the honesty policy one—that I’m hoping will be my third strand.

This will provide a degree of balance and order that will provide sufficiency for my family, while leaving time for my other projects, which is important.  I don’t quite have this balancing act thing down yet, but I’m getting there.

About Stephanie Allen Crist

Stephanie created and produces ComeSootheYourAchingSoul.com in answer to a call from God to use her experiences and gifts to help others. Stephanie is also the author of www.StephanieAllenCrist.com and two books that can be found on that site. Stephanie strives to share her love, faith, and talents in an inclusive manner to help others who know spiritual pain and who know the bitter taste of the dregs of despair.
This entry was posted in My Projects and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

