Recovery Stage 12: I Have Arrived

I’m not 100% “recovered.” I never will be 100% of what I used to be, because my newfound disability took away something of what I was. In fact, it has been taking away what I once was for quite a while now. It just took me some time to catch up to myself. Or something like that.

Anyway, the point is that I’m okay. Really, all of this is 100% okay. I’m not trying to convince myself, but I need my readers to understand that it’s okay to discover you can’t be who you used to be.

In fact, you shouldn’t be who you used to be. It’s called growth. Sure, I lost something when I became disabled. The change was gradual enough that I didn’t even know I was losing until it became a crisis. Recovering from that crisis has been a journey. That’s where the growth comes in. You never lose something without getting something out of it, just so long as you continue to grow as a person.

It’s the kind of journey that doesn’t really end, because it’s lifelong. Learning to live with what life throws at you is a lifelong process. Seems self-evident when I say it, but it’s something each of us has to learn and re-learn and learn again on a regular basis. If not, then you’re just stagnant.

Anyway, the journey isn’t over, but my recovery is. I’m not 100% of what I used to be and I may not even be 100% of what I can be now, but I’m where I am and I’m happy with that. I’ve reached my mark. I’m back on track. I’m where I need to be.

And I’m okay with where that is.

Starting next week, I’ll be returning to my “regularly scheduled programming.” Until then, I’ll leave you with one last thought: Be who you can be as you are right now and take a step to make yourself into who you want to be—that’s what this thing called life is all about.

About Stephanie Allen Crist

Stephanie created and produces ComeSootheYourAchingSoul.com in answer to a call from God to use her experiences and gifts to help others. Stephanie is also the author of www.StephanieAllenCrist.com and two books that can be found on that site. Stephanie strives to share her love, faith, and talents in an inclusive manner to help others who know spiritual pain and who know the bitter taste of the dregs of despair.
This entry was posted in My Projects and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Recovery Stage 12: I Have Arrived

Leave a Reply

