Trailer Time: What You Aren’t Telling Me

I watched a trailer because the series title piqued my interest. I knew it was a trailer for a series going in and so do you:

First, I know the music and the out of focus bits were elements that were used to generate excitement and mystery. I get that the pace was both for effect and for necessity, keeping everything tight, tight, tight. I get that. I do.

Honestly, though, the only things I really caught were:

Will we survive?

Extinction level event.

Um. Yes, we will survive or else there wouldn’t be a second, let alone a third book. But what is it we’re surviving? An asteroid? A plague? An invasion? Computers gone wild? No clue.

But there will be soldiers. Soldiers aren’t my favorite thing in the world, but I can do soldiers.

Now, the title, Linkage, Incursion, and Reversion seem like some kind of transformative plague. Or maybe that’s just me.

The point is that I have no idea what I’m supposed to be excited about. I have no clue who the characters are. And I really don’t know why I should care. If all I’m going to get is a cheap thrill, there are easier, less expensive ways to do it. After all, I have a Netflix subscription and a son who loves to try to scare me.

So, then I watched this one:

First, I thought my sound got muted. Then, bam!

Granted, this is a sensory processing thing for me, but I missed most of the text adjusting to the silence and then the noise. So, I watched it again.

Is it just me or does this seem like vampires vs. aliens?

Am I just having a bad day? Am I just being snarky? Or did I just stumble across two trailers that tell me virtually none of the things I want to know?

About Stephanie Allen Crist

Stephanie created and produces ComeSootheYourAchingSoul.com in answer to a call from God to use her experiences and gifts to help others. Stephanie is also the author of www.StephanieAllenCrist.com and two books that can be found on that site. Stephanie strives to share her love, faith, and talents in an inclusive manner to help others who know spiritual pain and who know the bitter taste of the dregs of despair.
This entry was posted in Marketing, Trailer Time and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

