Trailer Time: I’ve said this before…

…I’ll probably say it again, but copyright infringement is bad business when your business thrives on your right to copyright. See why:

Maybe it’s just me, but seeing text and seeing scenes stolen from other fantasy movies does the following things:

  • It confuses me about what the trailer is supposed to be telling me, because those scenes already mean something to me and they should have absolutely nothing to do with this book.
  • It makes me suspect that the author isn’t very creative if he or she feels the need to steal other people’s work to market his or her own.
  • It puts me in the mood to look for other possible thefts.

For example, when five children (I’m assuming they’re children, because it’s a book for “young people”) go to another world with one traitor, I think about The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe where four siblings went to another world and one of them was a traitor. On the other hand, I don’t think C.S. Lewis lacked creativity because he was inspired by the Bible. Of course, I’ve never caught him stealing anything before either.

Infringing copyright is an immediate loss of credibility in my book. It’s not cool, it’s not “being resourceful,” and it certainly isn’t creative. It’s not a good way to market your work. It sends several messages, none of which are good, including:

  • “I have no respect for other artists.”
  • “I will take what I want to get what I want and I’m willing to be dishonest about it.”
  • “I couldn’t think of anything good to do for this trailer.”
  • “I didn’t have the money to hire someone who could think of something good either.”
  • “My story really isn’t worth telling anyway.”

Why should I buy a book that’s marketed with messages like that?

About Stephanie Allen Crist

Stephanie created and produces ComeSootheYourAchingSoul.com in answer to a call from God to use her experiences and gifts to help others. Stephanie is also the author of www.StephanieAllenCrist.com and two books that can be found on that site. Stephanie strives to share her love, faith, and talents in an inclusive manner to help others who know spiritual pain and who know the bitter taste of the dregs of despair.
This entry was posted in Marketing, Trailer Time and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Trailer Time: I’ve said this before…

  1. acflory says:

    Bloody hell. 😦 I believe copyright law allows people to use tiny snippets of film etc but the ford scene from LOTR was a whole lot more than a snippet. And I’d love to know if they paid Two Steps From Hell for the use of the VERY well-known music. Given the cost, I’d guess probably not. The only things of value in this trailer as the bits created by other people/companies. Massive thumbs down.

Leave a Reply

