Trailer Time: Let the Music Ring!

I just had to watch this one…

If you’ve been around here a while, then you’d have picked up on the fact that I love epic fantasy novels. The more books in the series, the better I like it. The grander the arc, the more I get swept up into it. But if you’ve ever tried to write one, then you’d know why the truly great, ground-breaking epics are rare.

I don’t know if S. F. Cunningham’s series is a truly great, ground-breaking epic, but an original soundtrack seems like a good place to break some ground to me. Personally, I’m not that into music. I enjoy it, but some of the special came off when I lost the ability to distinguish tones properly. Knowing there’s more to the music than I can hear leaves me feeling, well, like I’d rather stick to songs with great lyrics.

Whether I ever listen to the music or not, I think this is a story worth reading. It gives the promise of a great epic and the writer is confident enough (or wise enough, which is even better) not to try to borrow some of the acclaim from great epics of the past.

This trailer comes out a bit long and it starts seemingly slow, but it’s got flair and it has a rhythm that feels epic. If you’ve ever read an epic, then you know the truly great ones require quite a lot of set up. Done well, all this set up is woven seamlessly into a great story scape. You don’t realize how slow the pace has been until the lattice work of knots the writer has been weaving starts pulling on each other. Then, the pace picks up. Then, you find yourself staying up way past your bedtime, reading until your eyes are blurry, thinking you’ll just get to a good place to stop…and then the book is over. You walk away satisfied, but still hungry for more.

Will S.F. Cunningham’s Elysara be that good? There’s only one way to find out!

About Stephanie Allen Crist

Stephanie created and produces ComeSootheYourAchingSoul.com in answer to a call from God to use her experiences and gifts to help others. Stephanie is also the author of www.StephanieAllenCrist.com and two books that can be found on that site. Stephanie strives to share her love, faith, and talents in an inclusive manner to help others who know spiritual pain and who know the bitter taste of the dregs of despair.
This entry was posted in Marketing, Trailer Time and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Trailer Time: Let the Music Ring!

  1. acflory says:

    I must admit I’m completely intrigued by the concept of packaging the novel and the music together. If I could, I’d bundle the music of Jo Blankenburg with my novel Innerscape because the music is integral to the feel of the story. But of course I can’t afford to do something like that. So how did this author manage to do it? Given that the music is also quite epic, I want to find out more. 😀

  2. The book is wonderful – I read it in 3 days and now I have to wait for the next one. I have spoken with the author through the Chronicles of Ardion facebook page. S.F. Cunningham is writing the series and his brother is the composer. The vocalists are also family members who play the roles of the main characters in the book.

    In the trailer, the opening voice is that of the Elysara herself, Maylinjay, who appears on the cover art. I won’t spoil the scene that the opening is taken from… but she is singing the ‘Mai-ayr’ which in Elysari means ‘arise.’

    I love it because you actually physically hear the characters come to life – the musical score isn’t just mood music – it actually scores specific scenes and cultures and characters. It’s crafted so that it fits hand in glove with the story. Music is at the heart of the Elysari people, and they sing beautifully!

    The quote at the start is from another important character, Harkaan – and there’s a track on score called ‘Harkaan’s Choice,’ and when you listen to it in conjunction with the scene from the book… I cried.

    As for the series – I hear they have grand, grand plans. The first novel is a great read, and you can see subtle hints throughout as to the massive stuff to come. Can’t wait.

Leave a Reply

