Hidden Demand

So, I have this friend. He’s an expert who provides his expertise by writing about it. He’s written and published a book and it’s making a decent go of it. His book is the interweaving of two subjects. He knew this, but he didn’t quite realize it until I made a point of it. (I’m currently working on this friend’s business plan and asked him if he’d like to continue writing about both subjects.)

Meanwhile, he’s very much immersed in his second book. A lot of people want his second book. Don’t get me wrong, it’s going to be a great book. It’s very much needed. There’s nothing on the market like it. And it follows very nice after his first book.

But his first book is the interweaving of two subjects and his second book only furthers one of them, the one he’s most comfortable with. There’s nothing wrong with this. Absolutely nothing! My point is not to criticize this friend’s priorities in any way.

But…the subject that he hadn’t really thought of as his subject is in even more demand than the subject he did think of as his subject. A second book on this subject would be in even more demand than the book he’s writing or the book he’s written. His take on this second subject is revolutionary in that easy-epiphany sort of way. It’s a slam-yourself-in-the-forehead-asking-yourself-why-you-didn’t-think-of-that reinvention of the subject. It’s simple and profound, easy to learn but hard to do; it’s a worth-a-whole-book sort of idea.

So, being the planner that I am, I state what to me is obvious, but was hidden from him. Write the dang book!!!

It’s great when you look up and see a lot of people clamoring for an idea that you’d really like to develop. That’s a wonderful feeling, I know. But don’t let all that attention keep you from looking for ideas that could be just as exciting and even more impactful, but are so close to your heart that you can’t see them clearly without looking.

Ideas are sitting right under your nose.

All you need is the courage to look down!

Seriously, people. Look for the ideas that are so obvious you’ve overlooked them, because I guarantee there are people who need to learn what you already know.

About Stephanie Allen Crist

Stephanie created and produces ComeSootheYourAchingSoul.com in answer to a call from God to use her experiences and gifts to help others. Stephanie is also the author of www.StephanieAllenCrist.com and two books that can be found on that site. Stephanie strives to share her love, faith, and talents in an inclusive manner to help others who know spiritual pain and who know the bitter taste of the dregs of despair.
This entry was posted in Cultivating Ideas, Marketing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hidden Demand

  1. acflory says:

    Funny you should write about the the not-so-obvious, obvious ideas. The project I’m working on atm is one like that. Food has always been one of my passions but it never occurred to me to write seriously about it until I realised that what I was doing was rather different to most standard cookbooks. Still no guarantee of success, but I like the idea of showing people how to eat well on a real shoe-string budget. 🙂

    • That is a good idea; and if you can teach people to eat well on a budget that budgets both time and money you’ll have a real winner! 🙂

      Of course, for me, the problem isn’t that I can’t afford to eat or that I don’t have time to prepare meals (my husband is willing and pretty able in that regard). The trouble is that I’m so cerebral I forget that I’m hungry and then make bad choices.

Leave a Reply

